The FLASHForward facility at DESY

A. Aschikhin, C. Behrens, S. Bohlen, J. Dale, N. Delbos, L. Di Lucchio, E. Elsen, J. H. Erbe, M. Felber, B. Foster, L. Goldberg, J. Grebenyuk, J. N. Gruse, B. Hidding, Zhanghu Hu, S. Karstensen, A. Knetsch, O. Kononenko, V. Libov, K. LudwigA. R. Maier, A. Martinez De La Ossa, T. Mehrling, C.A.J. Palmer, F. Pannek, L. Schaper, H. Schlarb, B. Schmidt, S. Schreiber, J. P. Schwinkendorf, H. Steel, M. Streeter, G. Tauscher, V. Wacker, S. Weichert, S. Wunderlich, J. Zemella, J. Osterhoff

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

54 Citations (Scopus)
6 Downloads (Pure)


The FLASHForward project at DESY is a pioneering plasma-wakefield acceleration experiment that aims to produce, in a few centimetres of ionised hydrogen, beams with energy of order GeV that are of quality sufficient to be used in a free-electron laser. The plasma is created by ionising a gas in a gas cell with a multi-TW laser system. The plasma wave will be driven by high-current-density electron beams from the FLASH linear accelerator. The laser system can also be used to provide optical diagnostics of the plasma and electron beams due to the <30 fs synchronisation between the laser and the driving electron beam. The project will explore both external and internal witness-beam injection techniques. The operation parameters of the experiment are discussed, as well as the scientific programme.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)175-183
Number of pages9
JournalNuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment
Early online date17 Oct 2015
Publication statusPublished - 11 Jan 2016


  • acceleration
  • beamline
  • plasma
  • spectrometer
  • wakefield


Dive into the research topics of 'The FLASHForward facility at DESY'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this