Identity and the vote: class and nationalty in Scotland

James Mitchell, J Brand

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

13 Citations (Scopus)


At the 1992 general election Scotland returned 72 MPs: 49 Labour, 11
Conservatives, 9 Liberal Democrats and 3 Scottish Nationalists. In terms of
seats, there was only one change from the previous election in 1987
(Aberdeen South was won from Labour by the Conservatives). Two seats
which had changed hands at by-elections during the 1987-92 Parliament
returned to the party which had previously held them (Glasgow Govan from
the SNP to Labour, and Kincardine and Deeside from the Liberal
Democrats to the Conservatives).
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)143 - 157
Number of pages15
JournalBritish Elections and Parties Yearbook
Issue number1
Publication statusPublished - 1993


  • Scottish independence
  • Scottish politics
  • class
  • nationality
  • elections


Dive into the research topics of 'Identity and the vote: class and nationalty in Scotland'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this