Organisation profile

Organisation profile

The NERC Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) in Oil & Gas is a collaboration of 7 core academic partners (Aberdeen, Durham, Heriot-Watt, Imperial College London, Manchester and Oxford universities and the British Geological Survey), 12 associate academic partners (the universities of Birmingham, Cardiff, Dundee, Exeter (Camborne), Glasgow, Keele, Newcastle, Nottingham, Royal Holloway, Southampton and Strathclyde and the National Oceanography Centre) and 9 industry sponsors (British Gas, BP, ConocoPhilips, E.On, Maersk Oil, OMV, Shell, Statoil and Total).

The Centre was awarded and established in 2013 with the aim of training the next generation of geoscientific and environmental researchers in oil and gas, providing them over their studentship with a total of 20 weeks’ joint training delivered by academic, governmental and industry experts from the Earth, Environment and Applied Business sectors. There is also an annual graduate school conference at which students will present their results and showcase the best academic research in oil and gas to the industry, government and academic peers.

Research is focussed on four areas:

Environmental Regulation & Impact

Extending the Life of Mature Basins (e.g. North Sea)

Exploration in Challenging Environments

Unconventional Oil & Gas Resources

The Centre aims to create a highly skilled workforce with expertise that can be used across the wider energy and environmental sectors. It will equip industry with the skills needed to explore, sustain and reduce the environmental impact of oil and gas exploration and extraction at a time of economic challenge and pressure for responsible environmental management.

The academy of talent consists of 29 4-year PhD studentships based in the 17 HEI partners in 2014/15. The CDT will recruit up to a further 33 PhD students in 2015 and 31 in 2016.


Dive into the research topics where Oil and Gas is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organisation's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.